Home

Image

Well here they are again, the Las Vegas boys are back to give indie music a much needed kick up the arse (and put a bit of guitar music back into the charts). With recent success such as Coldplay’s Mylo Xyloto as well the mediocrity that was The Strokes recent album Angles. It was always going to be tough for The Killers to match their previous landmark setting albums. After all they are among the last of the truly heavy hitters in Rock.

I haven’t always been a fan of The Killers, their first single “Somebody Told Me” bugged the hell out of me, it was only when I heard “Smile like you mean it” that I decided to give them a chance, and I haven’t looked back since, counting myself amongst some of the most diehard fans of the band.

So here we are with Battle Born, an album that has not full on floored me, but gently swept me off my feet. I had low expectations on the album after hearing its initial single release, Runaways, which I believe to be a pretty weak single, however this can be forgiven, the albums inspirational and uplifting imagery has you singing along after only a few listens, “Flesh and Bone” and “Be Still” are particularly impressive, however the entire album is pretty solid, it can be said the middle songs (“Miss Atomic Bomb “and “The Rising Tide”) become a little on the weak and repetitive side. The final few tracks have you right back on track with the glamorous indie rock n roll stars. An important note to bring up is how Flowers and the gang used to be known as the best American band to come out of England, well, they have now mastered that American sound we first heard back in “Sam’s Town”.

So a solid album, however it is hard to rank Battle Born against the previous three albums (four including “Sawdust”). The Killers seem to change with every passing album, while the parts remain the same; the machine always comes out different. So I would say, based upon how impressed I was, “Hot fuss” remains their finest work, followed closely by “Sam’s Town”. Battle Born is drawing for third with “Day and Age”, a couple more replays may see it climb the ranks.

Well done to The Killers, another great album. Here’s to a band that hasn’t disappointed yet. . . . Except for their Christmas single “Don’t Shoot Me Santa Claus”, because that was fucking awful. 

One thought on “The Killers – Battle Born

  1. Solid review. I’ve always been conflicted about the Killers – a lot of times I’ve felt they’re a little kitschy – but as with you, “Smile Like You Mean It” was a turning point in my feelings about the band. I’ll have to check this out!

Leave a Reply

